Episode 14: Fireworks and Monsters!

Hello everybody!

Plurk Podcast Challenge: Started by Knittingsmybag (“needlework project bags” on Etsy). Happening in September. More information as it gets closer.

Works in Progress:

  • Catkin – pattern by Carina Spencer, yarn Madelintosh Tosh Merino Light in the Nutmeg colorway and Malabrigo Sock in the Boticelli Red colorway, on size 4 US/3.5mm Addi Turbo Lace
  • Grumpasaurus: Sugar and Cream Cotton, green colorways

Finished Objects:

Future Projects:

Stash Enhancement:

  • Cascade Heritage Sock in the Isle of Skye colorway is on its way to me!

Reviews:

Ears and Eyes:

8 responses to “Episode 14: Fireworks and Monsters!

  1. You would love the fireworks competition we have here every summer for 2 weeks (3 nights, used to be 4) but OMG they are so very awesome!!!
    Ohh Spain, that will be fun!
    I will most likely be in central IL at the end of Aug. or sometime in Sept. :D
    You finished the yoga socks! Awesome!

  2. Hi Becky! I love your podcasts! I really like that shawl you are making, the colors complement each other nicely. I may have to work that pattern into my endless list of things I want to do. I have the book Knitted Monsters and have made the houseplant sitter. I’m thinking of making another one with a smaller wool and needles to make it tiny. I’ve made your Grumpasaurus, it turned out so cute! I used KnitPicks Palette. Thanks for the book recommendations, I’m looking them up now. And who cares what time you send your kids to bed, it is summer after all! It’s all good.
    Looking forward to the next installment,
    Kathy

  3. I love that monster book! I made Harold and put a pocket on the front of him. OMG! that song is Hilarious. I should have made sure I did not have a mouth full of coffee. I am enjoying your podcast (and co-host). I believe the new Knit Simple magazine will have a couple of new monsters in it that are not in the book. I hope you enjoy your trip to Spain. Gayla (Flibbertigibbet on Ravelry)

  4. Ha ha ha… I thought I was the only one who doesn’t like fire works. I don’t know why, but they just don’t do it for me. Maybe if they hung up there longer and did stuff.

    I know what you’re saying about the Big Bang Theory, but I can’t help it, I love the show.

  5. I, too, have really big balls……….of acrylic (bwahahaha! ok, sorry, I’m actually 12 years old). I usually end up donating them to various charitable groups, after many attempts and failures to put the yarn to good use (does that make me a yarn snob? not that I care). Still diggin’ this podcast and seeing your knits!

  6. Comfort yourself (somewhat). If we were only hard-wired for cruelty, the penal and child labor laws never would have changed. While some of our ancestors were busy imposing harsh sentences and availing themselves of child labor, many of the rest were busy convincing their fellows that such conditions were unconscionable in a civilized society. The ones so convinced (practically everybody in the ex-British empire and many other places) were then responsible for teaching their descendants to abhor cruelty to children in and out of prison. It’s probably safe to say that we’ve been hard-wired for both cruelty and compassion since we swung down from the trees.

  7. I LOVE The Big Bang Theory. I don’t considder it offending, it’s a parody. I think all Sitcoms are parodies of certain aspects of life and characters/ stereotypes, and as such they have to make fun of it. There are at least 4 seasons, BTW.
    The Graveyard Book sounds good, I will add it to my Mt.TBR.

Leave a Reply

