Episode 2: COOKIES!

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/AYKtxEoA%5D

Welcome to Episode 2, where I talk about cookies. But just for a little bit because I mostly talk about knitting and yarn. 🙂

Show notes:

A HUGE thank you to all who watched and commented. I really enjoyed knowing that you enjoyed it. It was fun to make and knowing that it was enjoyed made making a second one so much easier.

WIP:

FOs:

Future Objects:

Yarn:     Bernat Mosaics in Aura and Waterfall

Review:

Thanks:

What am I watching/listening to?:

  • Jane Eyre – finished it and loved it.
  • Summer Reading – did not finish because I hated it.
  • Video podcasts – LOVE THEM
  • Stiltsville – will finish but do not especially like

Video podcasts to watch:

Thanks and we’ll see you next week!

28 responses to “Episode 2: COOKIES!

  1. The felted bag will shrink conciderably, plus you can just keep felting until it shrinks small enough. It will be a purse purse not one of those “I can only fit a cucumber and some change” purses. I’ve been able to felt things down to 50% of their size, I say stick with it cause felting is such fun.

    • The consensus seems to be to finish it and felt the hell out of it so that is what I am going to do. I’ve got the body of it done and am starting on the flap. It might even be done by next week. Hope so.

      • P.S. I totally blushed while you were talking about me. Me = touched. That and I find it hysterical that I’m cute, I hear that so infrequently I almost spit my coffee. Almost.

  2. I’m working on the Dead Simple Lace socks, too! Love Wendy’s designs – I have both of her sock books and plan to work my way through both of them eventually. Your diagonal ones look great 🙂

    Lion Brand makes a wool blend yarn that is pretty similar to the Bernat Mosaic that you have. It’s called Amazing. I’ve used it in a shawl with a few other Woolease colours. I think it’s possibly their knock-off of Noro. I’m interested in seeing how your scarf works up. Sometimes the busy yarn is hard to match with a pattern.

    Keep on podcasting! I’m probably going to OD watching all the ones that are out there but that’s okay. It’s lots of fun to see what y’all are up to.

    • Wendy’s books are on my list of “knitting books I NEED.” I was looking at a Lion Brand pattern that called for “Amazing” and I thought to myself, “That sure looks like Mosaic.” lol

      I plan on continuing the podcast. It’s lots of fun. It gets me out of my comfort zone and it encourages me to finish projects. See you around!

    • Thank you so much! I will definitely be making some of those. So simple and I love non-knitting things to be simple. 🙂

  3. I love your podcast! I was an AF brat and lived in Germany for 8 years as a child. I love the candies from Europe so much better than here in the US.

    • I wonder what my daughter will remember from her years as an AF brat. She was 2 when my husband joined and will be almost 9 when his enlistment is up. It will be interesting to hear her stories in a decade or so.

      And, yes, I love the sweets selection here. I still love M&Ms more than anything else but the variety of chocolates is mind blowing.

      Thanks for stopping by! See you next week.

      • I don’t like M&Ms much. I love Smarties! My mom is British, so that is another reason why I like the candies and chocolates from over there much better than the ones here. It was funny when I was older I would often think I want a Kit Kat, but when I would take a bite, I couldn’t understand why I wanted that. Recently I realized, oh I like Kit Kat’s from England, but not from the US.
        I think that it will be interesting the different perspective that your daughter will have. We lived in West Berlin while the wall was still up and it was much more worrisome to my parents then to me and my sister. I look forward to your next podcast.

      • I find myself doing the same with Coke. I really like Coke made with sugar and NOT with high fructose corn syrup. When I was visiting the states last year, I couldn’t figure out why I didn’t like Coke anymore. It was a couple of months before I realized that I’d gotten used to the German recipe and had become a Coke snob. 🙂

  4. I love the idea of a Germany theme based review. I will never have the opportunity to go to Germany and learning from your experience would be great! Treat yourself and watch the video podcast the knit girllls and round the twist. They have been doing this for a long time and are great. I have learned so much from them.

  5. I forgot to tell you something. If you are going to knit the starving artist hat you might want to watch a tutorial on the knit girllls site that talks about another way of knitting it. They have a tutorial section. Really good stuff!

    • I will have to check that out. I’m hoping to get that cast on in the next couple of days but I need to finish at least one thing before I cast on another.

  6. Just thought I’d let you know that the Wool of the Andes will get soooo much softer after it gets a good wash and blocking. I use SOAK wool wash with mine and it does amazing things for WotA. One word though, the smell is atrocious while it’s wet. You’ll think there’s something wrong with it (as in ‘what crawled up on this sheep and died?”) , but once it dries it smells just like your wool wash. The stitches also bloom well after it has a good bath.

    • Thank you! I will have to get some wool wash. I’ve heard of it via other podcasters but I’ve not seen it around. I’ll have to do some internety research. And thank you so much for the smell warning. I have a tendency to “remember” bad smells and I don’t want to always think my sweater smells nasty just because I was so surprised by its wet smell. Very excited to get it finished.

  7. As Sadie said, you’ll be surprised how much smaller that bag will be once it’s felted! Just wanted to add, I’ve heard, and also found with a felted bag I made for my Mom, that there’s more shrinkage vertically than horizontally. So if it’s looking a bit too tall for the width, don’t be too concerned.

  8. I love the socks they came out great & nice color. Those cookies sound delicious I wonder if I can find them in a German store here in the states ?

  9. Lovin’ the podcast! I grew up an army brat, and spent almost 7 years in Germany as a kid (Schweinfurt). I am SO into the idea of a deutsch-themed review segment. There are sosoSO many things that I miss from my childhood (and from traveling as an adult) that I just can’t get in the states. That being said: if you spot those Smurf gummies, I will pay you big monies and/or yarn to send me wholesale quantities….just sayin’ :). And kinder eggs. And brotchen (America just doesn’t know how to make good bread!).

    Really enjoying the non-knitting book reviews. Now that I’m not in school, I need to catch up on non-school-y reading. Those van dyke socks look amazingly comfy. I can understand why you’d want to wear them all the time!

    Rock on!

    • I will keep my eyes peeled for Smurf gummies but I can’t send kinder eggs, at least not the normal ones. They are illegal in the states because they have a chocking hazard in the edible product. It super sucks but one run in with customs and two dozen destroyed eggs was enough for me.

      And, no, America does not know how to make bread. I am going to miss that sooooooo much. We’ve gotten so used to the German bread that we have a hard time choking down store bought bread. We will have to either find a bakery in town when we move back or I’ll have to start making bread again.

      I’m glad you are enjoying the non-knitting book reviews. It’s hard to know what to podcast and what not to so I go with what I want to talk about and so far (all of three weeks into it) it seems to be working okay. Hopefully you and others continue to enjoy it!

  10. Hi..I just found your podcast and I love it !! You said you dont have a great job to talk about…but you live far away. That’s special and I would like to know more about it. Just like the little bakery…Great podcast…Thanks !!!

  11. I have some sage yarn that I think will be perfect. I made some socks and a hat for my grandson and had a couple or 3 skeins left over, don’t remember right now. If you would like it let me know and I would be happy to send it to you.

    • Thank you soooooooo much. I got the yarn and got my husband to commit to a pattern so I am just waiting for the book that his pattern was in to get here from Amazon. YAY! Thank you so very much. Your generosity has blessed us so much!

  12. Love the podcast… I heard about your podcast from the Fibernymph .. she does 90 % knitting…
    I am trying to catch up with the episodes… keep up the good work…

    Susi

Leave a Reply

