Episode 6: Take two

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/AYK05GYA%5D

Thank you so much for stopping by!

Show notes:

Finished objects:

  • Market Bag, pattern “It’s so Easy Being Green” by Jennifer Lacey
  • Face Scrubbies, pattern “Scrubbie Dots” by Doni Speigle
  • Head band, based on trim from “Knit Edgings and Trims” from Interweave’s Harmony Guides

Works in Progress:

Future project:

Stash Enhancement:

Knitting book review:

Podcasts to watch:

  • Dragonfly Soars – Vickie
  • Knit1Hearttoo – Wendy and Sheila

Eyes and Ears:

Dr. Who

OR

I think it’s pretty clear who the better man is. I digress.

Valley of Horses, by Jane M. Auel

Don’t Look Behind You by Lois Duncan

Collected Stories and Poems by Edgar Allan Poe

Open Marriage by Nana and George O’Neill

14 responses to “Episode 6: Take two

  1. That headband is so cute!
    For the bag, I think you should do the white one on the outside between the pink and the pink/green, white one. You can always wash it if it gets dirty. 🙂

  2. For your blocking wires go to a shipping place and get a blueprint tube. My wires from knitpicks came in one and I just keep them there. Works great!

  3. Hi Becky,

    I enjoyed your vidcast. Sorry you had problems getting started.

    You asked for suggestions on how to store blocking wires? Mine are stored in a PVC pipe cut to the length of the wires with screw on caps. Works great.

    Wow, you got a lot of fabric choices. I like the white fabric on the outside and the pink on the inside. I look forward to seeing the bags.

    Cheers,
    Phyllis
    SonomaKnits

    • Thanks so much! I’m glad it was enjoyable! And will definitely be putting the white on the outside since that doesn’t seem to concern anyone else. Maybe I’m just not as careful as I should be. 😀

  4. Yes!! Someone else who likes Christopher Eccleston over David Tennant as the Doctor! I always feel so in the minority on this topic. Nothing wrong with Tennant, but I think Christopher is far, far hotter. 🙂

    And hey, I keep meaning to tell you that I love that your husband’s name is Israel. That was my grandfather’s first name too. I never knew him, he died in France in WWI shortly after my dad was born, actually, but I’ve never come across anyone else personally with that first name.

    • Mmmmmm…Christopher Eccleston. I need to get some other things that he’s been in.

      Israel went his whole life, never meeting another Israel until he was in his 20s but even then, never Americans. Then, at age 22, he got a letter from the dean of the college saying that he was on suspension because of these various criminal charges, including possession of marijuana, possession of a switchblade, and driving under the influence of said drugs. This was news to both of us as he doesn’t do/buy/sell/trade drugs, doesn’t own a switchblade and would never carry one, and doesn’t drive, has never driven a Bronco (the vehicle he was supposedly driving). We called the dean and the police and figured out what had happened. In the same small, college town, there was ANOTHER Israel with the same last name who had done said things and it was simply a mix up with the college not checking birthdates and social security numbers. We had a couple of scary moments before it was all figured out. How unlikely that two guys with the same first and last name would end up in the same small town. Ugh.

    • Yay for Christopher Eccleston! He’s been in all sorts of things.
      He’s a very successful actor over here. (I’m a Brit.) http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0001172/bio I really liked Shallow Grave although he’s not exactly sexy in it. More creepy.

      While on the subject of things British, my lovely friend who is greentrianglegirl on Ravelry has done a British knitting podcast called A Playful Day which is on itunes as well as her blog, http://www.aplayfulday.blogspot.com. Now that is a blatant plug but at least it’s a relevant plug. Check it out if you have time.

      Finally that was fun watching, so thank you.

  5. Hey girl, loved the episode! Sorry about the camera troubles; I hope the new one makes recording easier. I had no idea that the sugar (peaches? – short-term memory loss) n’ cream yarn came in scented colorways (I live under a rock)! That’s so neat-o.

    Rock on!

    ps: If I didn’t thank you before for the coffee “tutorial,” then I’ll do it now: THANK YOU!!! I’m a sometimes-coffee drinker, but I think a stove-top pot will change that.

    • I didn’t know they came in scented colorways either. I acutally picked up the Aloe-vera because of the color and it was only at the checkout, when Jenn smelled it and asked if I’d seen the lavender, that I realized it was scented. I kind of like it.

      And you are welcome for the coffee tutorial. It was really fun to put together. I think that video editing could get really fun with practice.

  6. If Ayla and Jondalar drove you crazy in The Valley of the Horses, Mammoth Hunters will really drive you nuts! It’s worth reading though. I’ve read all of them several times.

    As I recall, all the Lois Duncan “heroines” are equally stupid.

Leave a Reply

