Episode 11: I AM BACK!

[blip.tv http://blip.tv/play/AYLCumoA%5D

 

In theory…there will be show notes at a later date but just between us…they will probably never materialize.

 

22 responses to “Episode 11: I AM BACK!

    • She tried the Chronicles of Narnia a few months ago and didn’t care for them (What is wrong with my child?!). I think they were a little bit too advanced. While she can read quickly and has a great vocabulary, her attention span is still pretty short and she needs books to move along pretty quickly. I might try Harry Potter. My ultra-conservative Christian-cult upbringing rears its ugly head when Harry Potter is suggested for my daughter because my knee jerk reaction is “NO! Harry Potter is EVIL!” (doh!) But I might reread them and see if she’s interested.

    • She also loves the Boxcar Children. She’s read a lot of them but her favorite remains the first one…I think because our library’s copy has a red ribbon bookmark attached to it!

  1. I was going to recommend Harry Potter too. We started reading the series together when my son was 7. He is an advanced reader too, but some of the words were a bit hard (or maybe a bit too British?!) for him, which is good. I wonder if the Twilight series would be too much for her? I don’t think it gets too romantic until later in the series. I also read a book called Kiki Strike. I think it is a series. I’m not sure the author. I’m too lazy to google it. It is for pre-teens. I really liked it.

  2. I’ve been meaning to check out your podcast and I really enjoyed it. (cute haircut!) Sorry to hear your husband is going to be gone so much longer than you thought – that has got to really suck. Anyway, here are a few book suggestions:
    Mr Popper’s Penguins
    Anything by Beverly Cleary
    Anything by Marguerite Henry
    Little House in the Big Woods (& the rest of the series)
    Charlotte’s Web
    The Cricket in Times Square
    The Borrowers

    • oooo…I forgot about Mr. Popper’s Penguins. I loved that book when I was younger…which means Jael probably won’t like it but I’m gonna try it! Some of the others you suggest she’s read and I will be requesting some others. Thanks so much!

  3. Yay for being back!! Let’s see, when I was 7, I enjoyed A Wrinkle in Time — some difficult stuff but my mother and older sister and I read it out loud to each other which slowed things down and Mother was there to answer questions. Stuart Little, Wind in the Willows, Charlotte’s Web, The Call of the Wild, My Side of the Mountain, Little House series by Laura Ingalls Wilder. Odd as it sounds I loved biographies (kid versions of course) – Abigail Adams, Marie Curie, George Washington.. I didn’t read Harriet the Spy until I was 8 but I loved loved loved it. I didn’t start reading girl-power detective stories until I was 9? Nancy Drew and Trixie Beldon. I think I would have loved reading Harry Potter at 7 and if your daughter likes Roald Dahl she can probably handle the dead-parents and kids-in-jeopardy parts.

    • Ooo…I forgot about L’engle’s books. Those would be good to read aloud. I also loved My Side of the Mountain and Call of the Wild. Thanks for all the suggestions. I am excited about her reading this summer. I hope to really bring in some new and challenging stuff. Don’t want her brain stagnating over summer break!

Leave a Reply

